Letterkenny Institute of Technology

Programs available:

  • Autumn or Spring semester
  • Academic year

3.0 minimum GPA required

Inspire Learning Fee includes tuition, housing, (3) excursions, Irish mobile phone rental, optional full time 8 week internship* and more.

Courses are available from:

  • Certificate in International Foundation Studies (One year)
  • Undergraduate courses
  • Postgraduate (Masters and/or PhD) courses

1-day orientation on campus

Transcripts issued by LYIT

* Supplement of $150/week for accommodation ($1200 for 8 weeks)

About LYIT

Institutes of Technology operate a unique system in that they allow students to progress from two year (associate degree programs) through primary degree to Masters and PhD. These institutes provide a broad range of programs in Science, Engineering and Design, Business and Social Sciences from undergraduate to postgraduate level.

The institutions’ traditional courses were National Certificate and National Diploma type courses particularly in business, engineering and science, this was very much the founding principle. During the late 1970s degrees at Bachelor’s level were introduced, later Master’s and Doctoral levels were also allowed. In recent years there has been a rapid expansion in apprenticeship and nursing type courses.

The institutions were run as Vocational Education Acts from 1970 until 1992 as special subcommittees of the Vocational Education Committees, and placed on an independent basis thereafter by the Regional Technical Colleges Acts in 1993. In the late 1990s, all of the institutions were upgraded to Institute of Technology status. This was in recognition of the high standards, including university level research, which takes place at them. Additionally institutions have been given delegated authority to confer their own awards in some cases up to Doctoral level. The Regional Technical Colleges Acts still apply to all the institutions, with Dublin Institute of Technology set up under previous legislation and been quite distinct.

About Ireland

Ireland is an island west of mainland Europe, encircled by the Atlantic and the Irish Sea (which divides Ireland from Great Britain). The land mass is 32,595 square miles and shaped “saucer-like”, the coastal areas being mountainous and the midlands low and flat.

Historically divided into four provinces, Ireland is further subdivided into 32 counties.

  • Connacht encompasses the West of Ireland. The counties of Galway, Leitrim, Mayo, Roscommon and Sligo make up this ancient province.
  • Leinster contains the Midlands and the South-East. The counties of Carlow, Dublin, Kildare, Kilkenny, Laois, Longford, Louth, Meath, Offaly,  Westmeath, Wexford and finally Wicklow are parts of this province.
  • Munster straddles the Southwest and is Ireland’s largest province. The counties of Clare, Cork, Kerry, Limerick, Tipperary and Waterford belong to Munster.
  • Ulster is the complete North of Ireland. The counties of Antrim, Armagh, Cavan, Derry, Donegal, Down, Fermanagh, Monaghan and Tyrone make up this divided province. Cavan, Donegal and Monaghan are part of the Republic of Ireland, the other six counties forming Northern Ireland.

The largest cities in Ireland are the capitals Dublin and Belfast. Ireland’s longest river at 160 miles is the Shannon, Carrauntoohill in Kerry is the highest peak with 3,415 feet.

A Practical Guide to Ireland

As all applications are reviewed by LYIT, students are encouraged to apply early.

Spring start Mar-2017
Autumn start Mar-2018

Language Requirements


    6.5 with no band less than 6.0


Fees & Dates

*Includes breakfast, packed lunch and dinner Monday-Friday

Academic year
Shared off-campus accommodation $17,300